Allied Masonic Degrees

Allied Masonic Degrees of England and Wales and Districts and Councils Overseas

District Grand Council Of Kent

About the Allied Masonic Degrees

The Grand Council of the Order of the Allied Masonic Degrees was established in the 1870s and the Headquarters are at Mark Masons' Hall. Since 1931 the Order has been responsible for the following Five Degrees :-

Degree of St. Lawrence the Martyr Jewel

Degree of St. Lawrence the Martyr. This Degree teaches the value of fortitude and humility in the face of adversity as demonstrated by the martyrdom of St. Lawrence. It is the first to be taken by candidates admitted to the Order, the others may be taken in any sequence.

Knight of Constantinople Jewel

Degree of Knight of Constantinople. Relates to the reign of the Emperor Constantine the Great and teaches the virtues of humility and equality.

Degree of Grand Tilers of Solomon Jewel

Degree of Grand Tilers of Solomon or Masons Elect of Twenty-seven. Bears some similarity with the Cryptic Degree of Select Master but with #interesting variations. It warns of the dangers of carelessness and hasty judgment and the importance of proper tiling.

The Red Cross of Babylon Jewel

The Red Cross of Babylon. Is of considerable antiquity and is profoundly mystical. It is generally associated with the Holy RoyalArch. It emphasises the importance of Fidelity, Integrity and Truth.

Grand High Priest Jewel

The Holy Order of the Grand High Priest. This is also of considerable antiquity and has been closely associated with the Holy Royal Arch. The ceremony is dramatic and is of a profound and spiritual nature.